top of page

BLOG

Views are my own and are not made on behalf of my employer.
Search
  • Brett Dutra

Professionalism - More than just Bedside Manner

Updated: Apr 8, 2019


"Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it." – Maya Angelou

With any interaction with a healthcare professional, one expects to be heard with full attention and to be treated with dignity and respect. Moments in health care are often quite intimate, involving a high volume of personal health information. It is imperative that healthcare professionals not only uphold ethical standards, but to be truly accountable, ones values must align with their organization, profession, and character. It is more than just bedside manners, as health professionals need to uphold their values away from the bed, out of the room, and miles away. The professional interactions with patients are just as important as the manners portrayed within your team, your organization, and your personal life.


In my role as a Therapy Assistant (TA), I have the privilege of working closely with two separate and differing rehabilitation health disciplines – Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy. This has significantly influenced my professional identity as a TA. As defined by Khalili, Orchard, Laschinger, and Farah (2013), professional identity is formed through professional socialization, which is the result of learner’s interactions within their professional educational program and in professional practice. My unique background of Kinesiology and Adapted Physical Activity guided me into the role I serve now. I am able to see the potential and possibilities in each person and I strive to be the facilitator of their development. Working closely with other professionals who approach situations with different viewpoints and recommendations has been very rewarding. I have become a resourceful problem-solver, readjusting and tweaking my delivery for the best possible outcome. Client empowerment is a fundamental desire of mine and this directly links to my professional identity. I value person-centered care and recognize the importance of relationship building and fostering connection. My personal values align well with the values of Alberta Health Services – compassion, accountability, respect, excellence, and safety.


As an unregulated health professional, honesty and trust is imperative to providing safe, quality care. If I am not competent in a skill or need any clarification, it is vital to have ongoing, effective communication with the Therapist involved. I continually strive to be a better health care professional, increasing my knowledge and skills to improve health outcomes. Health professionals must adapt their approaches to expand their professional abilities using an interrelated care perspective. Reflection on past experiences is key to the development of an evolving professional identity. Understanding any personal biases or areas requiring improvement will support ongoing growth.


Overall, I fit into the Canadian health care system by playing a strong role in providing rehabilitation in a home care setting to maximize function and independence. Whether through teaching individualized home exercise programs, integrating home medical equipment, or connecting clients to additional resources, I promote living well in the home. Home care has been associated with decreased mortality, improved quality of life, reduced hospitalizations, and reduced health care costs (Gilmour, 2018). In Alberta, home care is publicly funded by the provincial government and practices are evidence-based. Working in home care, one must approach each situation openly with a creative mind, listening to the goals of the client. Promoting independence and healthy living in a home setting is truly rewarding .


In reflection, I realize the importance of sharing my professional identity to promote role clarity and furthermore effective inter-professional collaboration. I previously had no professional platform on social media to showcase my role in healthcare and inspire connections. As recommended by Ellaway, Coral, Topps and Topps (2015), I will structure my digital professionalism around the concepts of proficiency, reputation, and responsibility in order ensure alignment with my values and stay accountable to my identity. I will continue to be mindful and deliberate in how I portray myself on social media platforms. The digital era is one I choose to embrace as I continue to expand my ePorfolio and Twitter use as tools to create and share my digital brand.



References:

Ellaway, R. H., Coral, J., Topps, D., & Topps, M. (2015). Exploring digital professionalism. Medical

Teacher, 37(9), 844-849. Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.3109/0142159X.2015.1044956


Gilmour, H. (2018). Formal home care use in canada. Health Reports, 29(9), 3-9. Retrieved from https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/pub/82-003-x/2018009/article/00001-eng.htm


Khalili, H., Orchard, C., Laschinger, H. K. S., & Farah, R. (2013). An interprofessional

socialization framework for developing an interprofessional identity among health professions students. Journal Of Interprofessional Care, 27(6), 448–453. Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.3109/13561820.2013.804042

0 comments

Σχόλια


bottom of page